2013 – The Sound of Music

The Sound of Music (1959) is a musical with music by Richard Rodgers, lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II and a book by Howard Lindsay and Russel Crouse.  It is based on the memoir of Maria von Trapp, The Story of the Trapp Family Singers.  Many songs from the musical have become standards, such as “Edelweiss”, “My Favorite Things”, “Climb Every Mountain”, “Do-Re-Mi”, and the title song “The Sound of Music”.


Mother Abbess – Lynn Kelly
Sister Berthe – Jade-Louise Bromfield
Sister Rose – Rachel Wallis
Sister Ignatious – Kathryn Clowes
Sister Sophia – Bethan McKnight
Sister Margaretta – Harriet Malone
Captain von Trapp – Chris Head
Maria – Emily Watson
Franz – David Soanes


Frau Schmidt – Ellie Mays
Rolf Gruber – Anton Oliver
Elsa Schraeder – Karen Jamieson
Max Detweiler – Keith Reynolds
Herr Zeller – Jonny Dagley
Admiral von Schreiber – John Sedgley
Baron Elberfield – Keith Youles
Baroness Elberfield – Karen Walker
Priest – Peter Meadows

Production Team

Alan Hutchinson
David McKnight
Leanne O’Brien
Stuart Brabbin

Nuns and Postulants

Christine Arnall, Rebecca Atherton, Helen Barker, Angela Bithell, Alexandra Blackburn, Claire Brabbin, Georgia Brabbin, Mal Brotherhood, Kathryn Garrs, Lucy Jones, Helen Parker, Julie Poole, Pam Poole, Rebecca Ravenhill, Chloe Smedley, Angela Solomon, Karen Walker

The von Trapp Children

Liesl – Hannah Mansfield & Charlotte Swarbrick
Friedrich – Will Mays & Sam Brabbin
Louisa – Mia Thomas & Hannah Swarbrick
Kurt – Alex Price & Callum Townsend
Brigitta – Bethany Eales & Abigail Biscombe
Marta – Jasmine Eales & Emily Poole
Gretl – Millie Dagley & Olivia Carroll-Walsh


Lou Carter & Catherine Edwards (Violins), Jen Gilchrist (Viola), Rachel Saunders (Flute), Lesley Mazey, Emily König-Neville & Ellie Jennings-Edwards (Reeds), Graham Jacklin (Trumpet), Nick Walker (Trombone), Siân Turner (Keyboard), Andrew Burton (Bass), Neil Clarke (Drums)

Crew and Techs

Max Heller – DSM
Ken Brabbin – Set construction
Emma Roulstone – Projected images
Charlotte Elliott & Emma Roulstone – Make up

Crew and Techs

David Barker, Tim Garrs, Nick Head, David Miller, Jack Jamieson, Alan Jamieson, Mark Pacey, James Vickers – Crew
George Arnall, Connor Dexter, Liam Tranter – Sound and Lighting
Carole Youles – Call Assistant

Crew and Techs

Winnie Meadows & Genai Spoors – Wardrobe
Bethan McKnight & Carole Youles – Props
Bec Burton & Wendy Thomas – Prompts
Refreshments – Helen Popejoy