4th – 8th April 2017

“Never work with children and animals!”

This very famous saying, attributed to W.C Fields, is definitely not one that AMTG subscribe to.

When we produced Oliver! in 2009 we auditioned over 100 children, invited 36 to stay as two teams for Fagin’s Gang, and we still have some of those young people with us today, who will be in our production of the same show 4-8th April 2017. We are hoping to repeat the casting process and cast at least as many youngsters again.

David McKnight, Alan Hutchinson and Leanne O’Brien continue as our Production Team and Oliver! will be the perfect show to follow on with our recent successes at the 400 Hall Theatre, at Repton School.

We will have two teams of youngsters playing Fagin’s Gang, and will also cast two Olivers and Artful Dodgers. We have no doubt that the production will be of the same high standard that our audiences have come to expect from AMTG, and we will be delighted to see you there.

So many of our original Fagin’s Gang have grown up and moved on to top drama schools – with those remaining being joined by others since 2009. We are hoping that our new young cast in Oliver! will remain with us for future productions. Young people are the very life blood of any amateur society, and we at AMTG make it one of our principle aims to encourage, nurture and support young talent and we are always immensely proud of our Junior Members.

Adult auditions will probably be held towards the end of September, and as you might expect from us, our cast will be as outstanding as ever.

Oliver! Cast List (in order of appearance)

Oliver Twist – Olivia Carroll-Walsh, Ella Cope
Mr Bumble – Ben Kirby
Widow Corney – Natalie Whittlesey
Noah Claypole – Josh Benfield
Mr Sowerberry – David Carroll-Walsh
Mrs Sowerberry – Helen Barker

Charlotte – Jenny Wells
The Artful Dodger – Charlie Berrington, Olly Welton
Fagin – Chris Head
Nancy – Emily Watson
Charlie Bates – Hatti Harman
Bet – Emily Hammond

Old Sally – Chris Arnall
Bill Sykes – Carl Benfield
Mrs Bedwin – Ellie Mays
Mr Brownlow – Keith Reynolds
Dr Grimwig – Allen Graham

and introducing Rupert as Bullseye – owned by Paula White

Technical Team

Wardrobe – Di Whittell, Helen Popejoy, Lynn Kelly
Hair & Makeup – Mal Brotherhood, Alex Banton, Helen Popejoy
Props – Claire Brabbin, Ellie Mackmin
DSM – Beth McKnight
Assistant DSM – Amy Camp
Stage Crew & Set up – David Barker, George Arnall, Georgia Brabbin, Howard Rogerson, Isaac Weightman, Jack Jamieson, Josh Sibley, Karen Jamieson, Martin Jones, Nick Head, Sam Brabbin, Tim Garrs
Lighting Design – Liam Tranter
Set Construction – Ken Brabbin
Prompts – Bec Burton, Wendy Thomas
Rehearsal Accompanists – Margaret Bishop, Neil Clarke, Lesley Mazey, Rachel Saunders, Siân Turner
Chaperons – Emma Carroll-Walsh, David Carroll-Walsh, Helen Popejoy, Marie Straw, Rachel Wallis
Chaperon Assistants – Claire Berrington, Eliza Hill, Inez Wedgbrow, Louise Bailey, Sarah Daft, Sharon Cole
Refreshments – Helen and Roger Popejoy
Transportation – Ron Walker
Photography – David Sampson, Mark Shaw, Steve Clowes
Front of House Manager – John Jones
Front of House Team – Alan Jamieson, Andrew Staley, Ann Jones, Brenda Withnall, Jeanette Adams, Pam and Steve Clowes, Robin Freeman, Stefan Congrave, Tim Garrs