2014 – Fiddler on the Roof

Fiddler on the Roof is a musical with music by Jerry Bock, lyrics by Sheldon Harnick, and book by Joseph Stein, set in Tsarist Russia in 1905.  It is based on Tevye and his Daughters (or Tevye the Milkman and Other Tales) by Sholem Aleichem.  The story centers on Tevye, the father of five daughters, and his attempts to maintain his family and Jewish religious traditions while outside influences encroach upon their lives.  He must cope both with the strong-willed actions of his three older daughters—each one’s choice of husband moves further away from the customs of his faith—and with the edict of the Tsar that evicts the Jews from their village.

The original Broadway production of the show, which opened in 1964, had the first musical theatre run in history to surpass 3,000 performances.  Fiddler held the record for the longest-running Broadway musical for almost 10 years until Grease surpassed its run.  It remains Broadway’s fifteenth longest-running show in history.  The production was extraordinarily profitable and highly acclaimed.  It was nominated for ten Tony Awards, winning nine, including Best Musical, score, book, direction and choreography.  It spawned four Broadway revivals, a successful 1971 film adaptation, and the show has enjoyed enduring international popularity.  It is also a very popular choice for school and community productions.


Tevye – Chris Head
Golde – Karen Jamieson
Tzeitel – Rachel Wallis
Hodel – Charlotte Swarbrick & Georgia Brabbin
Chava – Issey Armston & Lucy Jones
Shprintze – Hannah Swarbrick & Mia Thomas
Bielke – Emily Poole & Olivia Carroll-Walsh
Yente – Kathryn Clowes
Motel – Mark Pacey
Perchik – Richard Craggs
Lazar Wolf – Carl Benfield
Mordcha – David Soanes
Rabbi – Keith Reynolds
Mendel – John Rogers
Avram – Roger Popejoy
Nachum – Steve Cox
Grandma Tzeitel – Helen Barker
Fruma-Sarah – Helen Parker
Constable – Andy Clarke
Fyedka – Freddie Woodyatt
Shaindel – Claire Brabbin
The Fiddler – Megan Pickering


Emily Watson, Karen Walker, Grant Topping, Megan Straw, Mike Smith, John Sedgley, Jean Sands, Rebecca Ravenhill, Lottie Ravenhill, Alex Price, Tony Poole, Pam Poole, Julie Poole, Kelsey Marriott, Lynn Kelly, Kathryn Garrs, Mal Brotherhood, Sam Brabbin, Angela Bithell, Amelia Bithell, Rebecca Atherton

Ukrainian Dancers

Andrij Kupranec, Stefan Kupranec, Myroslav Borys from the Hoverla Ukrainian Dance Ensemble


George Fletcher & Megan Pickering (Violins), Rachel Saunders (Flute), Lesley Mazey & Laura Storer (Reeds), Graham Jacklin (Trumpet), David Curtis (Trombone), Siân Turner (Keyboard), Andrew Burton (Bass), Neil Clarke (Drums)

Production Team

Alan Hutchinson
David McKnight
Leanne O’Brien
Stuart Brabbin

Crew and Techs

Max Heller – DSM
Ken Brabbin – Set construction
Liam Tranter – Lighting Design
David Barker, Tim Garrs, Nick Head, Martin Jones, Jack Jamieson, Alan Jamieson, Ed Cureton – Crew
Genai Spoors – Wardrobe
Bethan McKnight – Props
Bec Burton & Wendy Thomas – Prompts
Refreshments – Helen Popejoy